The Merseyside Transport Trust


The Merseyside Passenger Transport Executive took over the operations of buses in Liverpool, Birkenhead and Wallasey on 1st December 1969. With the reorganisation of county boundaries on 1st April 1974, the buses of Southport and St Helens were also absorbed. The MPTE era ended with the deregulation of the bus industry on 26th October 1986.

To see a list of our buses from the MPTE era, just hover your cursor over the white menu button above, and a drop-down list will appear. Then simply click on the vehicle that interests you to be taken to its page.

If the fleet number in the drop-down list is marked with an asterix (*) the bus is currently taxed, tested and running.

Buses in this section were delivered new to the MPTE.